Google search

Reinstall Windows 10 without deleting software files settings


Reinstall Windows 10 without deleting software files settings
Reinstall Windows 10 without deleting software files settings
Reinstall Windows 10 without deleting software files settings from your PC

By looking at the title, you understand what I'm going to discuss today. Many of you face problems after configuring Windows operating system. And to solve all those problems, create today's song "Reinstall Windows 10 without removing your PC software, files and settings". So let's move on to the main discussion without further ado.

After setting up Windows 10, many of you will be closed automatically due to system file corruption. In that case, if you configure Windows again, you will have to reinstall all the software, and if you use a lot of software, then the hassle is endless.

We will update all of our PC software, files, and settings on-site using the Windows and ISO 10 Windows overhaul options.

Many of you are familiar with the built-in "Reset this PC" option of Windows 10, you can reset your Windows using this option if there is any problem in Windows. But the problem is that all Windows files, settings and software will be reset. And that's why we will use update in place to solve our Windows issues without removing the software.




And with the update in place, we can repair problematic files on our Windows 10 system that no other means can do, like: command prompt SFC / scannow and DISM / Online / Cleanup-Image / RestoreHealth using this command. Cannot be solved
And we can reinstall Windows using the Windows 10 USB bootable / media drive or the media creation tool and it will take us about half an hour to do so.

Also, all the software that you have installed through the on-site upgrade will be in its previous state, so you won't have to do any additional work after this installation process is complete and it's definitely a better and more efficient method need to install Windows again.



How to start the update in place

First of all, in-place upgrade is not a simple option that you can easily start from the start menu and reinstall Windows. And to upgrade in place, you must be logged into a Windows account and you must have administrator access to that account. And if you are not an administrator, you should open the update installer in place by providing the administrator ID and password.

Now, if you don't know if you have an administrator account, check it by typing "change account type" in Windows search option or Control Panel \ User accounts \ User accounts \ Manage accounts \ Change account \ Change type of account at this location Go there, you will see a list of all accounts in Windows and at the same time you can see which accounts have administrator permissions.

Double-click the account whose permission you want to change, and then click the "Change account type" option, you can now make any normal user an administrator user.


You can also do the above by searching for Netplwiz.exe in the search bar. As soon as you open the Netplwiz.exe application, you will see a list of all the accounts on your PC, now select the account that the administrator wants to give access to and by clicking on the Properties button, go to the Group Membership tab and select Standard User / Administrator and click the Apply button. .
And if you still can't give administrator access to your account, chances are it is disabled by default from your Windows and you can run the following command prompt to enable it:

active / network user administrator: yes (this command will enable administrator access)

net user (this command allows you to view a list of all Windows accounts, including administrator accounts)


Another requirement to upgrade in place is that the USB drive / bootable USB drive / Windows authoring tool, etc., must be the same or the updated version of your operating system and language and architecture (32/64 bit ) must be the same.
You'll also need some extra storage on your Windows drive (C :), about 6GB of space when we did.

This step will use different types of display capabilities for different areas of your operating system to facilitate installation and your PC will have a dropdown menu for all drives from which you can select another drive.


Although this installation will keep your software the same as before, it will remove custom fonts, system icons, and WiFi data. However, as part of this process, you will have the Windows.old folder on your C drive where all your previous Windows will be stored.

And if you are using a UEFI system and have Secure Boot enabled, we suggest that you disable Secure Boot before starting the upgrade in place, and then you can enable it again.
On-site upgrade is the key to getting started

Run the Windows setup program (setup.exe) by mounting the Windows ISO or opening the bootable USB drive.

ISO can be mounted by default in Windows 10, so double-click the ISO file or you can mount the ISO file with the PowerShell command.

Mount-DiskImage -ImagePath "C: \ FileName.ISO"


Now after running setup.exe or the media creation tool, you will see two options named Update this PC now or create installation ISO / USB drive, select the option Update this PC now. And after clicking this option, your Windows will update to the new version first and then start to reinstall it.
Next, the Windows installer will do an initial setup / scan, and then ask if you want to install Windows and keep your old data and software. Select both options and click the install button.
Now have a cup of tea and drink it slowly, the rest of the work will be done by the on-site upgrade installer and will take about half an hour. And your computer will reboot several times while processing it and now you just sit back and watch what is happening, you don't have to do anything else.

Once the installation process is complete, Windows will load right after the update, just as it did before updating Windows.
What to do after the on-site upgrade is complete

As I told you before, when you reinstall Windows with this process, all its software and settings are the same as before and I also told you that this process creates a new folder called Windows.old to save data from previous Windows in your Windows C handle. And this folder takes up a lot of storage (about 8GB or more) on your C drive and cannot be directly deleted via File Explorer, although you can browse the C: \ Windows.old folder from drive C.


So, with the help of Disk Cleanup, you can delete other temporary installation files used during installation including Windows.old folder: To go to Disk Cleanup option, type Disk Cleanup in Windows search option and open app . Select "Clean up system files" to scan from the Disk Cleanup application.

After the update update in place, when we scanned for disk cleanup, we found 3.61 GB of Windows.old and 225 MB of Windows update log files.


And due to deletion of Windows.old and other files, you need to connect to WiFi again and if you have followed this process with older version of Windows then you may have to upgrade to new version of Windows. However, not updating Windows is entirely up to you, don't update if you want, but I'd say always try to keep Windows updated.
Tags

Post a Comment

0 Comments
* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.